School Council

School Council Members 2024

Kim Connelly - President, Helen Dillon – Vice President,  Andrea Phelan – Treasurer, Emily Wilhelms - School Council Member

DET Representatives: Peter Clayton - Principal,  Caz Koschitzke - Secretary

Warracknabeal Special Developmental School has an active school council that is committed to supporting the students and the staff to achieve the best practice, best facilities and deliver improved educational opportunities and learning outcomes for all students.

Please consider nominating for the school council when the elections are held in March each year.

What is a school council and what does it do?

All government schools in Victoria have a school council. They are legally constituted bodies that are given powers to set the key directions of a school within statewide guidelines. In doing this, a school council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students. Generally, the term of office for all members is two years.

Who is on the school council?

For most school councils, there are three possible categories of membership:

 What is the role of the school council president?

The role of the school council president is to:

 What is the function of a school council?

The functions of a school council are specified in the Education and Training Reform Act 2006 and include: